Saving my own life (hopefully)

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is a chronic disease of the central nervous system, which predominantly affects young adults during their most productive years… including me.
My name is Amanda, I am 25 years old, and I was recently diagnosed with MS. This does not define who I am! I am a motivated, active, and loving mother of three (kitties). I live a normal life: I work a full-time job, I recently bought a house with my boyfriend, and I love running. A few years ago I took up running; I needed to lose weight and 5k’s and a half marathon pushed me to a better version of me. I lost a lot of weight, but after a couple years I fell off the “healthy” diet and ran less. Fast forward to last November, my world came to a jolting halt and I didn’t know what was up or down when I was diagnosed. But I am strong and self-motivated, so I scoured the internet for ways to fight this terrible disease. I came across several YouTube videos that explained the science behind autoimmune diseases. Basically they said autoimmune diseases all stem from diet issues! I will try to add some links of the videos, but that is what I want this to be all about, what I am doing to conquer this disease, and how you can too! Here is a simple picture to try to explain the basis of it. When you put toxins into your body, such as highly processed foods, and you take drugs, and are under a lot of stress, which most people are, it can cause your one cell layer in the gut to get confused and it is not able to keep the bad things out of your bloodstream. leakygut

When these things get into your bloodstream, your body needs to get rid of it, so it creates antibodies to get rid of the proteins. Now, several dairy protein’s genetic make up look extremely similar to natural, good proteins found in our bodies. So now we have these antibodies in our bloodstream looking for dairy proteins, but WAIT, that other stuff looks just like that bad stuff! We need to kill it!

 cartoon.png

This is how autoimmune diseases start people!!! This seriously makes so much sense! Not to mention, all of this info is coming from doctors, like neurologists, not some crazy wack job. As far as MS goes, there are other factors that lead these antibodies through what is called a blood-brain barrier, such as consuming high amounts of saturated fat after the above scenario has taken place. This saturated fat makes this barrier permeable and then these antibodies attack our own proteins in our brain. Boom MS.

That is why with this blog I want to teach you how I healed my gut, cut out dairy while living in Dairyland, and removed processed foods from my diet, hopefully adding years to my life and  helping others like me! I have removed dairy, highly processed foods, and fast food from my diet for 3 months now, and I FEEL AMAZING!!! I have also ramped up my exercise, because I am currently training for my third half marathon and first triathlon. I eat a lot of veggies and fruit, I will share more with you soon!

Let me know what you think in the comments, and give me a follow!

Info from Dr. John McDougall

More info from YouTube

Have a fantastic week!
-Amanda

2 thoughts on “Saving my own life (hopefully)

  1. I’m so proud of you! I could cry. You’re brilliant and I love seeing the work and determination that you are putting into doing your best to outsmart this disease. I love you! Mom ❤

    Like

  2. I can’t wait to follow along! Great work, girly! I’m on a similar quest and battling stomach issues. You’ve been helping to inspire me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

